Picture Perfect Father’s Day

So it’s Father’s Day, and this year I didn’t want to give Kyle a present that was ordinary. You know, a new shirt, new shoes, a tool or something like those types of things. I wanted it to be thoughtful and something he would appreciate more than a material type thing. I had thought about doing a picture collage of Ashley with the letter’s “D-A-D” but then I thought it would be hard to try to do that on my own. See, I didn’t think outside the box of asking someone to help me….I’m not like that! I am “A-type” personality. Everything is supposed to fit inside my box and if it doesn’t, I get frustrated! That’s a whole ‘nother therapy session.

Thankfully, my friend Bethany had the bright idea of asking me if I wanted to do a picture collage with her! Oh well, there is a novel idea. Ask a friend!!! DUH, Laura. So we decided that we would meet at the Riverwalk Park and have a nice photo session of our two precious angel children who would sit perfectly and hold the letters just how we planned…..Silly us. You see, Pinterest only shows you a final result. There’s never a, “This is what it took to get this to look this way.” Pin. Nope, everything is picture perfect on Pinterest!!

Final Product
Final Product
Final Product
Final Product

 

Oh and it’s really hard to take a picture of a picture frame without getting a glare in the picture!!

So Wednesday came and we met up to get these pictures. We let Ashley go first. She would sit in the chair long enough for me to turn around and get into position to take the picture and then she was gone! I chased her up and down the bridge we were on. She would sit back in the chair, but then wouldn’t hold a letter. I snapped several with the D and then the A and then we gave Will a shot. He did much better because he isn’t walking yet. So he sat so nicely in the chair and held the letters! After we took some on the bridge, we decided to move to another location where there was grass. “Maybe she’ll sit nicely on the grass and hold a letter.” HA! Silly mom. Did I mention that it was sweltering hot and humid as well? There was a tropical storm somewhere nearby and so we were getting all the humidity from it. I mean suffocatingly hot. So we moved to a new location and the results were about the same; running off and not interested in sitting nicely in a chair holding letters. By the end, both kids were completely over the photo session as were the mothers!

BUT, all that effort made a really cute photo collage to which got the exact response I was hoping to get! Kyle loved his frame and cannot wait to hang it in his office! He also got a certificate from Ashley for a day of doing dad things like fishing and playing with Starr all day with no complaints from us girls. He deserves it. He works so hard for this family and has made it possible for me to stay home with Ashley. Therefore, I’m able to have the freedom to make gifts for him that he’ll hold on to forever! Happy Father’s Day, Kyle! Your girls love you beyond measure!

 

Here are some pictures that didn’t make the frame….

Holding the letters are optional!
Holding the letters are optional!
Not going to sit down!
Not going to sit down!
I'm outta here!
I’m outta here!
Hey Will! Whatcha' doing?
Hey Will! Whatcha’ doing?
I'm done, right mom?
I’m done, right mom?

 

OVER. IT.
OVER. IT.
Hand over the goldfish and no one gets hurt!
Hand over the goldfish and no one gets hurt!

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment